Cuy a.k.a. Guinea Pig – WARNING, kind of gross

WARNING TO ANIMAL LOVERS – you might not want to read the rest of this post.

As I mentioned in Post 20, Cuy is the delicacy of Peru.  From being served in really nice restaurants, to being found fried on the streets, if you want to eat some guinea pig – you will definitely have the opportunity.

Unfortunately or fortunately, depending on how you look at it, Kenzo and I had the opportunity to watch 10 cuyes being prepared to cook.  It was shocking, we thought we were driving Pauline to Zurite to pick up 10 prepared cuyes, but when we got there, 9 of them were still alive.

Pauline, Mario and Emily immediately started working.  They broke necks, dipped in hot water, pealed hair and the cut open and took out guts.  Kenzo and I stood there watching.  I told them that I was sorry that normally we’d help, but that we just couldn’t do that.

Here are some photos of the process . . .

First, you kill the poor cuy. I didn't want to put a picture of this. Once it is dead, you dip it in hot water.

Once it has been boiled, the hair comes off pretty easily. They were mainly using their hands to pull it off.

And you peel . . .

. . . and peel . . .

. . . and peel.

Paulina does it with a smile...so maybe it cannot be that bad. Still - I'll pass on this part.

Then, at some point, you finish peeling and you have your rodents, I mean, food ready to gut, stuff and cook.

Tomorrow, you can see us eating the final product!

This entry was posted in Culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cuy a.k.a. Guinea Pig – WARNING, kind of gross

  1. I had cuy in Ecuador. It was the same experience and i dont think it was worth it. My cuy was oily and there was very little meat. the organs were the most awesome part…apparently. But I again, was not impressed. it tasted like rats.
    Hope everything is going great. Hope the haircut worked for you. I was very nervous about it. love you both, Caitlin

  2. Pingback: Cuy a.k.a Guinea Pig – WARNING, kind of gross

Leave a comment